Year-End Awards Banquet


SMHA is hosting a Year-End Awards & Banquet for the U11, U13 and U15 Divisions, and is also organizing Awards for the U18 Division. 

  • Teams from U6, U7, and U9 Divisions are encouraged to do their own team-level year-end celebrations. 
  • Teams from U18 will receive their awards from SMHA, and are also encouraged to do their own team-level year-end celebrations by mid-April. 



Year-End Awards Banquet Details

When: Easter Monday, April 1st, 2024
Where: Springfield Lake Recreation Centre (266 Lakeview Ave, Middle Sackville)
Dress Code: Smart Casual (Parents/Guardians: Please don't go out and buy something new - just avoid sweatpants please!)

There are three banquets, one after the other, to be able to accommodate all teams.

  • U11 Banquet: 3:00pm - 4:25pm
  • U13 Banquet: 4:45pm - 6:10pm
  • U15 Banquet: 6:30pm - 7:50pm


Due to capacity restrictions, the Banquet is limited to the players, Team Manager, Head Coach(es) and Assistant Coaches only. Family members cannot attend the banquet as attendees.


U11 Year-End Awards Banquet

Easter Monday, April 1st, 3:00pm - 4:25pm

Click Here for the U11 Live Stream or watch the embedded link below:





U13 Year-End Awards Banquet

Monday, April 1st, 4:45pm - 6:10pm

Click Here for the U13 Live Stream or watch the embedded link below:



U15 Year-End Awards Banquet

Monday, April 1st, 6:30pm - 7:50pm

Click Here for the U15 Live Stream or watch the embedded link below:




Team Awards

Coaches and Bench Staff for each team in the U11, U13, U15, and U18 Divisions will select recipients for the following awards:

  • Peeks Performer
    The Andrew Picot Teammate of the Year - A player who brings an inspiring work ethic and a team focus to their play

  • Most Improved Player
    A player who dedicated themselves to working hard to become the best player they can be

  • Most Sportsmanlike Player 
    A player who consistently respected their peers, competitors, coaches and officials

  • Heart & Hustle 
    A player who demonstrated passion for the game of Hockey and best embodies the values, spirit and traditions of the game.

  • Most Valuable Player 
    A player who has significantly contributed to his or her team's success

Major Awards

SMHA presents four Major Awards annually:
  • The James Sheppard Flyer-of-the-Year Award
  • The Bernie Bishop Coach-of-the-Year Award
  • The Gord Dwyer Award for Officials
  • The Volunteer of the Year Award

Tge SMHA Major Awards Nomination Form closed on March 24, 2024. Thank you for all of your submissions! 


The James Sheppard Flyer-of-the-Year Award

A Player who exemplifies strong leadership skills, high academic achievement and outstanding athletic ability.

The James Sheppard Flyer-of-the-Year Award - Past Recipients

  • 2021-2022 - Kaleb Conley
  • 2019-2020 - Adam Woodman
  • 2018-2019 - Matt Hayes
  • 2017-2018 - Ethan Hiscott
  • 2016-2017 - Ryan Guzzwell
  • 2015-2016 - Connor Wolfe
  • 2014-2015 - Matt MacKay
  • 2013-2014 - Ryan Prosser
  • 2012-2013 - Connor Theriault
  • 2011-2012 - Cody Lawson
  • 2010-2011 - Matthew Stymest
  • 2009-2010 - Jacob Fancy
  • 2008-2009 - Jonny Horsman


The Bernie Bishop Coach-of-the-Year Award

This prestigious award was introduced in 2011 and is open to all Coaches of Sackville Minor Hockey who have coached for a minimum of five years.

Bernie Bishop was a longtime valued member of our association. He was a past member of the SMHA Executive, a Coach, a Mentor Coach, and a Development Coach. He stepped in anywhere he was asked. His last several years with the Association were spent in the U15 competitive program, coaching and mentoring our SMHA players. Bernie spent countless hours at the rink watching, planning, coaching, teaching or giving advice not only to our players but to the coaches and our SMHA Executive. He was a caring and loving person, and he will always be remembered. Bernie's contribution will continue to be recognized within Sackville Minor Hockey Associaiton as we honour his memory with this "Coach of the Year Award".

The Bernie Bishop Coach-of-the-Year Award - Past Recipients

  • 2022-2023 - Rick Corrigan
  • 2021-2022 - Cory Richardson
  • 2020-2021 - Andy Conrad
  • 2019-2020 - Mike Burns
  • 2018-2019 - Joe Gray
  • 2017-2018 - Brian Irwin
  • 2016-2017 - Dan MacDonald
  • 2015-2016 - Shawn Hiscott
  • 2014-2015 - Paul Shaw
  • 2013-2014 - Scott Oakley
  • 2012-2013 - Shawn Pottie
  • 2011-2012 - Brendan Meagher


The Gord Dwyer Award

Presented to the official who best demonstrates dedication, perserverance, and professionalism within Sackville Minor Hockey

The Gord Dwyer Award - Past Recipients

  • 2022-2023 -
  • 2021-2022 - Luke Pound
  • 2019-2020 - Kevin Grant
  • 2018-2019 - Brian Collins
  • 2017-2018 - Ben Thomander
  • 2016-2017 - Hunter Rose
  • 2015-2016 - Braydon MacDougall
  • 2014-2015 - Calen Hunter


The Kim Gray Volunteer of the Year Award

Presented to the an exemplary volunteer within Sackville Minor Hockey Association.


The Volunteer of the Year Award - Past Recipients

  • 2022-2023 - Helen Scammell
  • 2021-2022 - Keri Murphy